On Tuesday night, Gulfport City Council voted unanimously to pass an ordinance creating a domestic partnership registry in the city.
About the ordinance:
The domestic partnership registry is modeled after the Orlando ordinance with elements of the Key West ordinance. The fee is $25 per couple and does not require both people to sign the declaration in the presence of the city clerk. The couple may drop off or mail in a notarized declaration.
It specifies the following rights and legal effects:
- Health Care Facility Visitation
- Health Care Decisions
- Funeral/burial Decisions
- Notification of Family Members
- Preneed guardian designation
- Participation in Education
According to the ordinance, domestic partners are two adults who have chosen to share one another's lives in a family relationship. Two persons are considered to be domestic partners if:
- They consider themselves to be members of each other's immediate family.
- They agree to be jointly responsible for each other's welfare.
- Neither of them is married under the laws of the State of Florida, is a member of another domestic partnership, or civil union with anyone other than the co-applicant.
- They are not blood related in a way that would prevent them from being married to each other under Florida state law.
- Each is at least 18 years of age and competent to contract.
- They each have signed a declaration of domestic partnership as provided for in section 26-45.
The following video is provided by the City of Gulfport.